Mykonos: Sun, Shots and Some Decent Windmills

IMG_9792
“Sunny Days and Party Nights” – a slogan strewn across hundreds of souvenir t-shirts in all shades of neon imaginable is a pretty damn apt way to sum up this Greek Island. As one of the wealthiest islands, Mykonos has an eclectic mix of craft stores, boutiques and cocktail bars. All dotted through the winding streets that make up its labyrinth town centre. Cool tourist things to do aside from gazing in awe at all of the gorgeous little white and blue framed houses is visiting the ancient windmills and Petros the Pelican. A warning though – the Pelican might look like its sleeping when you approach it for your cheesy tourist snap, but that bird knows how close you are! It knows when to squawk at just the right moment to strike fear into your heart. You’re panic sense sets in, that this is it, death by pelican. The day you dreaded, but always knew was coming had arrived. Toning down the drama for a second, we can all relax since the pelican just likes to show off. It goes back to its mellow self.

Our Busabout group had booked accommodation at the Paradise Beach Resort. As the name suggests, the Resort backs straight onto the glittering crystal clear waters. Recliners under wide umbrellas are laid out down the beach as guests and locals knock back fruity frozen cocktails from morning to night. Happy Hour extends for much longer than one hour of the day, 2 for 1 cocktails are the name of the game. I never wanted to leave. The water was beautiful, the on-site restaurants offered good food. For those on a budget in Greece, you can always order Gyros. This is similar to the kebabs I eat back in New Zealand, except it is either filled with Pork or Chicken, then has tzatizki, tomato, onion, and hot chips wrapped up into a pita bread, all for just 2.50 euros! The flavour packed into these parcels of deliciousness is phenomenal to say the least. Before coming to Greece, I don’t think I truly appreciated how great their cuisine is. Each night I have chosen traditional Greek meals and have not yet been disappointed.

Mykonos is known for its parties and as summer heats up so does this Island as it gets into the swing of the season with bigger and better events. On our first night we went out for dinner at a beautiful restaurant in town with gorgeous flowers draping down from the ceiling. We bar hopped from cocktail lounges to a dance club called Scandinavian Bar. Many shots were consumed and those of us who were out tore up the dance floor with a variety of classic dance moves and got up on the bar to shake what our mother’s gave us. Sexy, sexy asses. That is what.

P1000013

Feeling a tad peckish I decided a late night sugar and lemon crepe would go down excellently. I successfully consumed three bites of beautiful sugary yet tart crepe before bursts of hot lemon squeezed out and dripped all down my arm. The more I tried to remove the juice with serviettes, my situation only got worse as the lemon spread all down the front of my dress. To say it was a throwback to my toddler years would almost be an understatement. As this ordeal was unfolding, our tour guide told us that we had 10 minutes to run to the other side of town to get taxis. Great. Running while sticky? Everyone’s favourite activity.

Sprinting through packed winding streets while trying to eat a crepe (because uh, I paid good money and it still tasted delicious even with half of it on me…) and being covered in lemon juice should never be carried out by anyone, ever. I repeat, ever. In a distressed state trying to get past everyone and not lose the others who were all running to get to the taxis, I began screaming out for no good reason, “I’m so sticky!!!” One guy noticed a ranting girl pushing through the crowds (me) and asked what was wrong. In my state, I believe that touch would be the best explanation. Oh, that poor stranger. I stuck my grubby hand out and placed it is on his chiseled bicep (oh yes side note – EVERYONE in Mykonos is ridiculously attractive). Never before has someone looked at me with such disgust as he lurched away shouting, “DON’T TOUCH ME!!!!!!!” Hands raised in the air like a surrendering criminal, I melted back into the seething mass of people and hauled my sticky self to the taxis.

Our second night of partying in Mykonos was even bigger. starting out at the Paradise Beach Guapaoloco Bar with an array of cocktails, some drinking on the beach, a fair few shots, we all covered ourselves in neon UV paint and headed to the resort’s Full Moon Party. By this point, my night gets a little blurry and the rest of it remains better not shared with the public. All I can say is, Mykonos is incredible. I didn’t want to leave and I’ve decided that I need to come back to the Greek Islands again. They are very quickly becoming my favourite place in the world.

Here’s a link of all the events held at Paradise Beach over the Summer of 2013, check it out to get an idea of what might be in store for anyone planning to hit up the Greek Island’s for the 2014 European Summer!

Mykonos Paradise Club Summer Line-Up 2013

I hope that I get back there next July!

View from the bar at Paradise Beach.

View from the bar at Paradise Beach.

Early morning shot before the beach goers have made it out of bed.

Early morning shot before the beach goers have made it out of bed.

This is what paradise looks like.

This is what paradise looks like.

The oh-so iconic windmills.

The oh-so iconic windmills.

All the streets look like this, it becomes confusing  trying to get home at night!

All the streets look like this, it becomes confusing trying to get home at night!

Beautiful crafts for sale.

Beautiful crafts for sale.

I love how their flag so perfectly matches its environment.

I love how their flag so perfectly matches its environment.

Petros. The grumpy bastard himself.

Petros. The grumpy bastard himself.

Just a blue overload.

Just a blue overload.

Window shutter.

Window shutter.

Looking out at the town and into the sparkling ocean.

Looking out at the town and into the sparkling ocean.

One response to “Mykonos: Sun, Shots and Some Decent Windmills

Leave a Reply

